My daughter is on a meth binge

The daughter was strategically placed in front of me so I could focus on her while separated from her parents. While she sat in the chair she kept her head down to avoid eye contact and looked like she went through a meat grinder. She was very skinny with blotchy skin and her hair was brown and stringy. The dark circles under her eyes were a dead giveaway that she was strung out and an avid meth user. I needed to gain her trust in order for her to relax and be forthcoming with her story. So, I looked right into her eyes and let her know that she was in good hands and that we were going to uncover what was causing her so much emotional pain. She nodded her head in agreement and said, “thank you.”

I turned to the parents and asked them to tell me their story and there question still remains why is my daughter is on a meth binge. In other words, I wanted them to tell me any childhood experiences their daughter had that might cause her to react in a way that was life-diminishing. The mother decided to tell me her story. The man sitting next to her was not his biological daughter but a current boyfriend. She mentioned that they had been a couple for several years. She also mentioned that she and her boyfriend are ex-felons and have been involved in the criminal justice system for many years.

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

