My daughter is on a meth binge

Over the loud speaker I heard my name being called to pick up an emergency call on line 1. In that brief moment of silence I had the opportunity to relax for the moment, gather my thoughts, and wonder what that “emergency” call was all about. So, I took deep breath getting myself prepared for anything.
I picked up the phone, pushed the transfer key, and said, “Mr. Oden speaking. How can I help you?” The person on the line began the conversation in a panicked, loud, and rushed tone. He said, “My daughter is on a meth binge and is running the streets. I don’t know what to do or where to turn. I am scared that she will hurt herself. She is 19 years old and has been using drugs for the past 5 to 6 years. We keep trying to help her but for some reason she does not respond. For some reason this episode seemed worse than others I have received. I called your office to see if you had any suggestions about where to send my daughter. I do not know what to do.”

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

